Michael Longley 




WOUNDS inglés




Traducciones: ru

to poem


Traducciones: ru

to poem


WAR & PEACE inglés



THE WEST inglés

Traducciones: de

to poem

Michael Longley 

Foto © Foto: private
* 17.07.1939, Belfast, Reino Unido
Vive en: Belfast, Reino Unido

Michael Longley was born in Belfast in 1939, and educated at The Royal Belfast Academical Institution and Trinity College Dublin, where he read Classics. For twenty years he worked for the Arts Council of Northern Ireland where he initiated the programmes for Literature, the Traditional Arts (mainly Irish music) and Arts in Education. He has been a freelance writer since 1991, apart from semesters as Writer Fellow at Trinity College Dublin in 1993 and, in 1997, as Visiting Professor at Emory University Atlanta.

 Foto © Foto: private
He has published nine collections of poetry including Gorse Fires (1991), winner of the Whitbread Poetry Award; The Weather in Japan (2000) which won the Hawthornden Prize, the T. S. Eliot Prize and the Irish Times Poetry Prize; and Snow Water (2004) which was awarded the Librex Montale Prize (Milan). His most recent collection is A Hundred Doors (2011). His Collected Poems appeared in 2006. He has edited Selected Poems: Louis MacNeice (Faber); Poems: W.R.Rodgers (Gallery); 20th Century Irish Poems (Faber); Selected Poems: John Hewitt, with Frank Ormsby (Blackstaff Press); and, with Terence Brown, The Essential Brendan Kennelly (Bloodaxe Books).

Michael Longley has received honorary degrees from Queen’s University Belfast, Trinity College Dublin, the Open University and University College Dublin. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of Aosdana.  He was the winner of the American Ireland Fund Literary Award in 1996. In 2001 he received the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry, and in 2003 the Wilfred Owen Award. He was awarded a CBE in 2010, and was the Ireland Professor of Poetry from 2007 to 2010.  

He and his wife the literary critic, Edna Longley, live and work in Belfast.

  • Ten Poems

    Belfast: Festival Publications, 1965

  • Secret marriages

    Nine short poems

    Phoenix Pamphlet Poets Press, 1968

  • No Continuing City

    Poetry collection from 1963-1968

    Chester Springs: Dufour Editions, 1969

  • Lares

    Illustrated by Brian Ferran

    Woodford Green: Poet & Printer, 1972

  • An exploded view

    Poems 1968-72

    London: Gollancz, 1973

  • Fishing in the sky : love poems

    [Pinner]: Poet and Printer, 1975

  • Man lying on a wall

    Poems 1972-75

    London: Gollancz, 1976

  • The echo gate

    Poems, 1975-79

    London: Secker and Warburg, 1979

  • Patchwork

    With drawings by Jim Allen

    Dublin: Gallery Press, 1981

  • Selected poems, 1963-1980

    Poems. Selections

    [Wake Forest, N.C.]: Wake Forest University Press, 1981

  • Poems : 1963-1983

    Poems. Selections

    Edinburgh; Dublin: Salamander; Gallery, 1985

  • Gorse fires

    London: Secker &​ Warburg, 1991

  • Baucis and Philemon: After Ovid

    Woodford Green: Poet & Printer, 1993

  • Birds and​ flowers

    Edited and designed by Alec Finlay

    Edinburgh: Morning Star Publications, 1994

  • Tuppenny stung

    Autobiographical chapters

    Lagan Press, 1994

  • The ghost orchid

    "Cape poetry."

    London: Cape Poetry, 1995

  • The Ship of the Wind

    Eight Poems

    Poetry Society, 1997

  • Broken Dishes

    Newry: Abbey Press, 1998

  • Selected poems

    Poems. Selections

    London: Cape Poetry, 1998

  • The weather in Japan

    Political violence

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2000

  • Snow water

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2004

  • Collected poems

    Ireland -- Poetry

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2006

  • A hundred doors

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2011

  • The Stairwell

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2014

  • Sea Asters

    Fine Press poetry, 2015

  • The Dipper's Range

    Fine Press poetry, 2016

  • Gefrorener Regen


    Aus dem Englischen von Hans-Christian Oeser und Jürgen Schneider und einem Nachwort von Michael Krüger

    München: Edition Lyrik Kabinett bei Hanser, 2017

  • Angel Hill


    London: Jonathan Cape, 2017

  • 1991 Whitbread Poetry Prize

  • 2000 T. S. Eliot Prize

  • 2000 Hawthornden Prize

  • 2001 Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry

  • Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Poetry

  • 2010 Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

  • 2011 London Awards for Art and Performance

  • 2012 Poetry Now Award

  • 2015 Freedom Of Belfast

  • 2015 Griffin International Poetry Prize

  • Librex Montale Prize

  • 2015 Ulster Tattler Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2017 PEN Pinter prize

Links Video