Charles Bernstein 




A Test of Poetry 英文

翻译: de

to poem

Charles Bernstein 

Foto © Dirk Skiba
* 04.04.1950, New York City, 美国
居住于:New York City, 美国

Charles Bernstein was born April 4, 1950 in New York City. He attended the Bronx High School of Science and Harvard College, from which he graduated in 1972. He is married to the painter, Susan Bee, and has two children.

Bernstein is the author or editor of over 50 books, ranging from full-length collections of poetry and essays to pamphlets, libretti, and collaborations. Among the many significant anthologies he edited are L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E, which was anthologized as The L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E Book in 1984, American Poetry after 1975 (2010), or the audio poetry anthology Live at the Ear (1994).

 Foto © Dirk Skiba
He is Donald T. Regan Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the University of Pennsylvania, where he is co-director of PennSound (, a project he founded together with Al Filreis. With Loss Pequenño Glazier he founded the Electronic Poetry Center ( He is coeditor of Modern and Contemporary Poetics, a book series from the University of Alabama and has been host and co-producer of two radio poetry series.

In 2006, Bernstein was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. 

  • Asylums

    New York: Asylum's Press, 1975

  • Parsing

    New York: Asylum's Press, 1976

  • Shade

    College Park, MD: Sun & Moon Press, 1978

  • Poetic Justice

    Baltimore: Pod Books, 1979

  • L E G E N D

    with Bruce Andrews, Steve McCaffery, Ron Silliman, Ray DiPalma

    New York: L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E/Segue, 1980

  • Controlling Interests

    New York: Roof Books, 1980

  • Islets/Irritations

    New York: Jordan Davies, 1983

  • The L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E Book

    ed. by Charles Bernstein and Bruce Andrews

    Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1984

  • Content's Dream

    Essays 1975-1984

    Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 1986

  • The Sophist

    Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 1987

  • The Nude Formalism

    with Susan Bee

    Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 1989

  • Rough Trades

    Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 1991

  • A Poetics

    Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1992

  • Dark City

    Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 1994

  • My Way

    Speeches and Poems

    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999

  • Republics of Reality: 1975-1995

    Los Angeles: Sun & Moon Press, 2000

  • With Strings

    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001

  • Shadowtime

    libretto for an opera with music by Brian Ferneyhough

    Los Angeles: Green Integer, 2005

  • Girly Man

    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006

  • All the Whiskey in Heaven

    Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010

  • Attack of the Difficult Poems

    Essays and Inventions

    Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2011

  • Recalculating

    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2013

  • Angriff der Schwierigen Gedichte

    Ausgewählte Gedichte


    Wiesbaden: LUXBOOKS, 2014

  • Pitch of Poetry


    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, Spring 2016

  • 1999 Roy Harvey Pearce / Archive for New Poetry Prize of the University of California, San Diego

  • 2005 Dean's Award for Innovation in Teaching (University of Pennsylvania)

  • 2006 Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • 2015 Janus Pannonius Grand Prize for Poetry

  • 2015 Preis der Stadt Münster für Internationale Poesie