Adam Zagajewski 




Pokój 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Długie popołudnia 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Siostry miłosierdzia 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Pełnia lata 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Mów spokojniej 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Tam, gdzie oddech 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Kino „Potęga” 波兰文

翻译: de

to poem

Adam Zagajewski 

Foto ©
* 21.06.1945, Lwów, 波兰
21.03.2021, Kraków, 波兰

Adam Zagajewski was born in Lvóv in the Ukraine in 1945 and is the author of many books of verse and essays as well as several novels. His debut as a poet came in 1972 with the volume Komunikat.

Zagajewski came from a Polish family that had lived in Lviv for hundreds of years but were expelled to Gliwice in Poland when the city came under Soviet control. He was a vocal critic of the Polish Communist Party from the mid-1970s, resulting in his books being banned from publication until 1989. Zagajewski left Poland in 1981 and went into exile in Paris via West Berlin and the USA. He returned to Kraków in 2002 and had since lived in Kraków and Chicago, where he has been teaching at the university since 2007.

 Foto ©
Adam Zagajewski was a member of the Academy of Arts, Berlin, and the Committee on Social Thought at the University of Chicago. His work has garnered many prizes including the Prix de la Liberté, the Nikolaus Lenau Prize for European Poetry, the Horst Bienek Prize and the Samuel Bogomil Linde Prize as well as the 2004 Neustadt International Prize for Literature. German translations of Zagajewski’s poems and essays have frequently appeared in the journal published by the Academy of Arts, Sinn und Form and English translations have appeared widely.

  • Komunikat

    Kraków: Wydawnictwo Literackie, 1972

  • Świat nieprzedstawioy


    Kraków: Wydawnictwo Literackie, 1974

  • Sklepy mięsne

    Kraków: Wydawnictwo Literackie, 1975

  • Ciepło, zimno


    Warszawa: PIW, 1975

  • Drugi oddech


    Kraków: Znak, 1978

  • Das absolute Gehör [Słuch absolutny]

    Roman, nur in deutscher Übersetzung veröffentlicht

    Zürich: 1982

  • List. Oda do wielości

    Paris: Instytut Literacki, 1983

  • Cienka kreska


    Kraków: Znak, 1983

  • Jechać do Lwowa

    London: Aneks, 1985

  • Solidarność i samotność


    Paris: Zeszyty Literackie, 1986

  • Płótno

    Paris: Zeszyty Literackie, 1990

  • Dwa miasta


    Paris-Kraków: Zeszyty Literackie-Oficyna Literacka, 1991

  • Ziemia ognista

    Poznań: Wydawnictwo a5, 1994

  • W cudzym pięknie


    Kraków: Wydawnictwo a5, 1998

  • Trzej aniołowie

    zweisprachige Ausgabe Polnisch-Englisch

    Kraków: Wydawnictwo Literackie, 1999

  • Pragnienie

    Kraków: Wydawnictwo a5, 2000

  • Obrona żarliwości


    Kraków: Wydawnictwo a5, 2002

  • Powrót

    Kraków: Wydawnictwo a5, 2003

  • Anteny

    Kraków: Wydawnictwo a5, 2005

  • Tremor

    poetry in English translation


  • Canvas

    poetry in English translation


  • Mysticism for Beginners

    poetry in English translation


  • Ich schwebe über Krakau


    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2000

  • Without End: New and Selected Poems

    poetry in English translation


  • Die Wiesen von Burgund

    Ausgewählte Gedichte

    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2003

  • Eternal Enemies: Poems

    poetry in English translation


  • Verteidigung der Leidenschaft

    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2008

  • Unseen Hand: Poems

    poetry in English translation


  • Unsichtbare Hand


    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2012

  • Die kleine Ewigkeit der Kunst

    Tagebuch ohne Datum

    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2014

  • Asymmetrie


    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2017

  • Poesie für Anfänger


    München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2021

  • 1975 Kościelski-Preis

  • 1985 Kurt-Tucholsky-Preis

  • 1986 Andrzej-Kijowski-Preis

  • 1987 Prix de la Liberté

  • 1988 Literaturpreis der Alfred-Jurzykowski-Stiftung

  • 1996 Vilenica-Preis für Mitteleuropäische Literatur

  • 2000 Tomas Tranströmerpriset

  • 2000 Nikolaus-Lenau-Preis für europäische Lyrik

  • 2002 Literaturpreis der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

  • 2002 Horst-Bienek-Preis für Lyrik

  • 2003 Würth-Literatur-Preis/Tübinger Poetik-Dozentur

  • 2004 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

  • 2015 Heinrich-Mann-Preis

  • 2016 Leopold Lucas-Preis (Tübingen)