Salvador Espriu 




Salvador Espriu 

Foto © Barceló, 1966
* 10.07.1913, Santa Coloma de Farners, Espanha
22.02.1985, Barcelona, Espanha

Salvador Espriu (Santa Coloma de Farners, 1913 - Barcelona, 1985) ranks among the most significant writers of the post-war years and is one of Catalonia’s most important poets. Though he initially gained recognition for his work in narrative, the fact that he moved into poetry later on in life did not prevent him from making a name for himself, not only in Catalan letters but in international literature. He also played an important role in the revival of Catalan theatre.

 Foto © Barceló, 1966
He published the novels El doctor Rip (1931, Dr. Rip) and Laia (1932) and the collections of narratives Aspectes (1934, Aspects), Ariadna al laberint grotesc (1935) (Ariadne in the Grotesque Labyrinth, Champaign; Dublin; London, Dalkey Archive Press, 2012), Miratge a Citerea (1935, Mirage on Kythira) and Letízia i altres proses (1937, Letitia and Other Prose Pieces), works that established him as the most original narrator since Noucentisme. His poetry includes the anthologies Cementiri de Sinera (1946) (Sinera Cemetery, Barcelona, North American Institute, 1978), Les hores i Mrs. Death (1952, The Hours and Mrs. Death), El caminant i el mur (1954, The Walker and the Wall), Final del laberint (1955, End of the Labyrinth), Les cançons d'Ariadna (1949, Songs of Ariadne), La pell de brau (1960) (Bull-hide, Marlboro, The Marlboro Press, 1987), Llibre de Sinera (1963, Book of Sinera) and Setmana Santa (1971, Easter Week). He frequently revised his writings, crafting them into a polished body of work that has been translated into many languages. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature on a number of occasions and was awarded the Honorary Prize for Catalan Letters (1972), the Government of Catalonia Gold Medal (1974) and the City of Barcelona Gold Medal (1982). In addition, he was given honorary doctorates by the universities of Barcelona and Toulouse. His critical stance prompted him to reject the Alfons X el Savi Cross in 1982.

  • Cementiri de Sinera

    Barcelona: La Sirena, 1946

  • Les cançons d’Ariadna

    Barcelona: Óssa Menor, 1949

  • Obra lírica

    Barcelona: Óssa Menor: 1951

  • Les hores

    A: Obra lírica. Óssa Menor

    Barcelona: 1952

  • Mrs. Death.

    Barcelona: A: Obra lírica. Óssa Menor, 1952

  • El caminant i el mur

    Barcelona: Óssa Menor, 1954

  • La pell de brau

    Barcelona: Salve, 1960

  • Llibre de Sinera

    A: Obra poètica. Albertí

    Barcelona: 1963

  • Per al llibre de Salms d’aquests vells cecs

    A: Qüestions de vida cristiana, [Montserrat] núm. 37


  • Setmana santa

    Barcelona: Polígrafa, 1971

  • Formes i paraules

    Barcelona: Edicions 62, 1975

  • Per a la bona gent.

    Sant Boi de Llobregat: Edicions del Mall, 1984

  • Final del laberint

    Barcelona: Atzavara, 1995

  • 1956 Lletra d Or

  • 1971 Premi Montaigne

  • 1972 Crítica Serra d Or de poesia

  • 1972 Premi d Honor de les Lletres Catalanes

  • 1980 Medalla d Or de la Generalitat de Catalunya

  • 1980 Doctor honoris causa - Universitat de Tolosa de Languedoc

  • 1980 Doctor honoris causa - Universitat de Barcelona

  • 1982 Medalla d Or de la Ciutat de Barcelona