Matthew Sweeney 




No Sugar inglês

Traduções : de sk

to poem

Matthew Sweeney 

Foto ©
* 06.10.1952, Donegal, Irlanda
05.08.2018, Irlanda

Matthew Sweeney was born in Donegal, Ireland in 1952. He moved to London in 1973 and studied at the Polytechnic of North London and the University of Freiburg.

His poetry collections include “A Dream of Maps” (1981), “A Round House” (1983), “Blue Shoes” (1989), “Cacti” (1992), “The Bridal Suite” (1997) and “A Smell of Fish” (2000), “Sanctuary” (2004). Selected Poems, representing the best of ten books and twenty years' work, was published in 2002.

 Foto ©
Sweeney won a Cholmondeley Award in 1987 and an Arts Council Writers' Award in 1999. He has also published poetry and novels for children. His work is increasingly appearing in translation.

Matthew Sweeney has held residencies at the University of East Anglia and the South Bank Centre in London, and was Poet in Residence at the National Library for the Blind as part of the 'Poetry Places' scheme run by the Poetry Society in London.

Matthew Sweeney died of motor neurone disease in 2018. 

  • A dream of maps

    Dublin: Raven Arts, 1981

  • A Round House


    London: Allison & Busby, 1983

  • The Lame Waltzer


    London: Allison & Busby, 1985

  • The Chinese dressing-gown.

    English fiction Children’s story

    Dublin: Raven Arts Press, 1987

  • Blue shoes

    London: Secker & Warburg, 1989

  • Cacti

    London: Secker & Warburg Poetry, 1992

  • The Flying Spring Onion

    Children’s poems

    London: Faber and Faber, 1992

  • The Snow Vulture

    Children’s novel

    Faber and Faber, 1992

  • The blue taps

    London: Prospero Poets, 1994

  • Fatso in the Red Suit

    Children’s poems

    London: Faber and Faber, 1995

  • Emergency Kit: Poems for Strange Times


    Edited by Matthew Sweeney & Jo Shapcott

    London: Faber and Faber, 1996

  • The bridal suite

    London: Cape Poetry, 1997

  • Writing Poetry


    Co-author with John Hartley Williams

    Hodder & Stoughton, 1997, update 2003

  • A Smell of Fish


    London: Cape, 2000

  • Up on the roof

    Children’s poems

    London : Faber and Faber, 2001

  • The New Faber Book of Children's Verse

    Edited by Matthew Sweeney

    London: Faber and Faber, 2001

  • Selected Poems

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2002

  • Fox


    London: Bloomsbury, 2002

  • Fuchs


    Berlin: Berlin Verlag, 2003

  • Sanctuary

    London: Jonathan Cape, 2004

  • Black Moon


    London: Jonathan Cape, 2007

  • Rosa Milch


    Ausgewählt, übersetzt und mit einem Nachwort herausgegeben von Jan Wagner.

    Berlin: Berlin Verlag, 2008

  • The Night Post

    Cromer: Salt Publishing, 2010

  • Death Comes For The Poets

    (satirical crime novel)

    cowritten with John Hartley Williams

    MUS, 2012

  • Horse Music


    Hexham: Bloodaxe Books, 2013

  • Inquisition Lane


    Hexham: Bloodaxe Books, 2015

  • Hund und Mond


    Englisch-Deutsch. Übersetzt von Jan Wagner.

    Berlin: Hanser Berlin, 2017

  • My Life as a Painter


    Hexham: Bloodaxe Books, 2018

  • 1984 New Statesman Prudence Farmer Award

  • 1987 Cholmondeley Award

  • 1993 and 1999 Arts Council Writers' Award

  • 2001 Arts Council of Ireland Writers' Bursary

  • 2011 The Steven Kings Award

  • 2012 Maria Elsa Authors and Poets Award

  • 2014 Piggot Poetry Prize