Carolyn Forché 




Carolyn Forché 

Foto ©
* 28.04.1950, Detroit, Michigan, Estados Unidos
vive em: Bethesda,MD, Estados Unidos

Carolyn Forché (born in Detroit in 1950) is an American poet, translator and human rights activist. Her very first book of poems, Gathering the Tribes, won her the Yale Series of Younger Poets Award when she was 24. In 1977 she lived in El Salvador with a scholarship grant and worked for Amnesty International. She used her experiences and impressions from the civil war there for her second book, The Country Between Us. Carolyn Forché is especially interested in the effect of political trauma on poetic use of language. Her anthology Against Forgetting: Twentieth-Century Poetry of Witness collects the work of poets who have lived through the extremes of war, military occupation, imprisonment, torture, forced exile, censorship and house arrest.
Carolyn Forché has translated the work of Claribel Alegría, Georg Trakl, Robert Desnos and Mahmoud Darwish and has been awarded prizes such as the Los Angeles Times Book Award and the Robert Creeley Award. In 1998 she received the Edita and Ira Morris Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture Award in Stockholm in recognition of her commitment to human rights and the preservation of memory and culture. She currently teaches at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., and lives in Maryland.

 Foto ©
  • Women in American Labor History, 1825-1935: An Annotated Bibliography


  • Gathering the Tribes

    Yale University Press, 1976

  • The Country Between Us

    Harper & Row, 1981

  • El Salvador: Work of Thirty Photographers

    W.W. Norton, 1983

  • Against Forgetting: Twentieth-Century Poetry of Witness

    W.W. Norton, 1993

  • The Angel of History

    HarperCollins, 1994

  • Blue Hour

    HarperCollins, 2003

  • Poetry of Witness

    The Tradition in English, 1500-2001

    edited by Carolyn Forché and Duncan Wu

    New York / London: W.W. Norton, 2014

  • What You Have Heard Is True

    A Memoir of Witness and Resistance

    Penguin Press, 2019

  • In The Lateness of The World


    Penguin Press (USA) / Bloodaxe Books (UK), 2020

  • 1975 Yale Series of Younger Poets Award

  • 1994 Los Angeles Times Book Award for poetry

  • 1997 Edita and Ira Morris Hiroshima Foundation Award