Ostap Slyvynsky  (Остап Сливинський)




Ostap Slyvynsky  Остап Сливинський

photo © private
* 14.10.1978, Lviv, Ukraine
lives in: Lviv, Ukraine

Ostap Slyvynsky (1978) is a poet, essayist, literary scientist and translator and has studied at the Institute of Slavic Language and Literature at the University of Lviv, where he obtained his PhD in with a thesis on the silence in contemporary Bulgarian prose.

Slyvynsky is the author of a large number of essays and media articles and has published five collections of poetry, so far. He has been awarded, among other prizes, the German Hubert Burda Award for young poets from Eastern Europe (2009).

 photo © private
He translates from Bulgarian, Polish, Macedonian, English and Belarusian into Ukrainian. Works he has translated include "Natural Novel" and "Other Stories" by Georgi Gospodinov, stories by Alek Popov and poems by Ivan Radoev, Nikolay Kanchev and Marin Bodakov. His translations from Polish had earned him the Polish Embassy’s translation prize (2007) and the Medal for Merit to Polish Culture (2014).

Slyvynsky coordinated the International Literary Festival at the Publishers Forum in Lviv in 2006–2007. In 2016, he helped organize a series of readings titled “Literature Against Aggression” during the Forum. In 2015, he collaborated with composer Bohdan Sehin on a media performance, “Preparation,” dedicated to the civilian victims of war in the East of Ukraine.

Slyvynsky teaches Polish literature and literary theory at Ivan Franko National University. He is the Vice President of Ukrainian PEN and lives in Lviv.

  • Schertvoprinoschennja velykoi ryby


    [The Sacrifice of Big Fish]

    Lviv: 1998

  • Poludneva linija


    [The Midday Line]

    Chmelnyzkyj: 2004

  • Mjatsch u pitmi


    [Ball in the Darkness]

    Kyiv: 2008

  • Ruchomy ogień


    [The Running Fire], translated into Polish by Bohdan Zadura

    Wrocław: 2009

  • Adam


    Czernowitz: 2012

  • Беглый огонь


    [The Running Fire], translated into Russian by Dmitriy Kuzmin, Anastasiya Afanasyeva and others

    Moscow: 2013

  • Piesok a víno


    [Sand and Wine], translated into Slovak by Valéria Juríčková

    Brno: 2015

  • Im fünften Jahrtausend erwachen

    Gedichte aus den Jahren 2008 bis 2016

    Ins Deutsche übersetzt von Claudia Dathe

    Berlin: Edition.fotoTAPETA, 2017

  • Орфей


    [Orpheus], translated into Russian by Stanislav Belsky

    Dnipro: 2017

  • Зимовий король


    [The Winter King]

    Lviv: 2018

  • 1997 Bohdan-Ihor-Antonych-Price

  • 2000 Smoloskyp-Prize

  • 2007 Award of the Embassy of Poland in Ukraine for best translation

  • 2009 Hubert Burda Preis für junge Lyrik

  • 2013 Kovaliv Fund Prize

  • 2014 Medal for Merit to Polish Culture for his translations

  • 2018 премія «ЛітАкцент року» за збірку «Зимовий король»

  • 2020 спеціальна відзнака журі Премії міста літератури ЮНЕСКО за переклад книги Ольги Токарчук «Книги Якова»

Links Video