Iftikhar Arif  (افتخار عارف)




چک پھیری الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

پس چہ بايد کرد الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

ایک تھا راجہ چھوٹا سا الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

ایک سوال الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

اِنتباہ الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

بارہواں کھلاڑی الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

غزل الأردية

الترجمات: de en

to poem

Iftikhar Arif  افتخار عارف

Foto © gezett.de
* 21.03.1943, Lucknow, الهند
يعيش في: , الهند

Iftikhar Arif was born in 1943 in Lucknow, India. He attended the University of Lucknow and got his Master Degree in Sociology.

In 1965 he moved to Pakistan where he worked with Radio Pakistan, later joining Pakistan Television Corporation as a Senior Producer and Scripts Editor.

Then he worked for several years in London, first at the Bank of Credit and Commerce, and from 1983 to 1990 as Executive Secretary of the Third World Foundation Urdu Markaz. From 1991 to 1995 he was General Director of the Pakistan Academy of Letters, and from 1994-1997 of the Pakistani Scholars and Writers Foundation.

 Foto © gezett.de
Since 2000 he is Chairman of the Pakistan Academy of Letters.

Mehr-e-Doneem, his first collections of Urdu poems, was published in 1983, and since then several editions of his book have been published in Karachi, Delhi and London.

His poems appear in various Urdu magazines and periodicals throughout the Urdu literary world and have been translated into other languages, as English, Russian, German, Persian, Hindi.

With his unabashed liking for classical imagery and diction, to which he has added a new dimension, Iftikhar Arif is at heart a poet of defiance and a champion of the deprived. For him poetry is a means of restoring human dignity and hope in a fragmented world.

  • Mehr-e-Doneem


  • Barhwaan Khilari (The Twelfth Man)


  • Harf-e-Baryab


  • Jehan-e-Maloom


  • 1984 Pakistan Writer's Guild Adamjee Award (Best Book of the Year)

  • 1988 Faiz International Award (for poetry)

  • 1989 The Pride of Performance (Literature)

  • 1994 Naqoosh Award

  • 1994 Waseeqa-e-Etaraaf

  • 1994-95 Allama Iqbal Award for Poetry

  • 1995 Baba-e-Urdu Maulvi Abdul Haque Award (Poetry)

  • 1999 Sitara-e-Imtiaz

  • 2001 Pakistan Christian Citizen Forum's Award

  • 2005 Hilal-i-Imtiaz

  • 2005 Khawaja Fareed Award